Course Site Management

Return to Main Menu



Duplicate a Course Site

eCommons Duplicate Site Video Icon

Duplicating a course site makes an exact copy.  This option is helpful when, for example, you want to reuse the exact content and presentation from the same course that was delivered in a previous term.  

From within the course site you want to duplicate, select Site Editor and Duplicate Site.

image of site editor duplicate site option

Enter a Site Title, and select the appropriate Academic Term.  It is important that you select the correct term or you will not be able to add your course roster.

Image of site editor duplicate site confirmation screen

It may take a while to process your new site depending on the amount of content being exported.  After you have duplicated your course site follow the instructions for Adding a Course Roster.

Back to Top


Delete a Course Site

Only the primary instructor can delete a course site.

Step 1: In My Workspace, click on Site Setup

screenshot of my workspace select site setup

Step 2: Click the check-box next to the course-site you would like to delete and then click the Delete button.  

screenshot of site set up delete option

Step 3: Click Mark for deletion to complete the Soft Delete Process.

screen shot of soft delete confirmation

Sites will be purged after 90 days.  If you need help deleting a site or would like to restore this site after you have marked it for deletion send an email to ecommons.help@ucsc.edu, let us know your CruzID, the title, year and quarter of the site.  

Back to Top


Edit Which Tools are Available

eCommons Resources Tool upload folder
  1. Click the tab for the site you would like to modify.
  2. Click on the Site Editor link in the left hand menu and then click on the Edit Tools action button.
    editing tools
  3. Check or uncheck the tools you wish to add or remove, then click Continue.
    choosing tools
  4. If you have selected any tools that require additional information, eCommons will ask for it on this page. Enter it and click Continue.
  5. On the next page confirm your selections by clicking Finish at the bottom of the page.

Back to Top


Manage Site Participants 

Adding Participants

eCommons Resources Tool upload folder
  1. Click the tab for the site you would like to modify.
  2. Click on the Site Editor link in the left hand menu click on the Add Participants action button.
    site editor
  3. Enter any UCSC user's CruzID into the first text box. You can put one CruzID per a line to enter multple participants at once.
    adding participants
  4. Choose whether to assign all new members the same role or individual roles by selecting Assign all participants to the same role or Assign each participant a role individually and then click Continue.
    assigning roles
  5. Assign participant roles, then click Continue.
    assigning roles
  6. Choose to notify your new members by selecting Send Now, then click Continue.
  7. On the next page confirm your selection by clicking Finish.

To use eCommons a participant must have a valid CruzID and gold password.  You may request a CruzID for Student Auditors, Visiting Lecturers, and Sponsored Guests by applying for a SUNDRY account.  

Concurrent students (registered through University Extension) also need to have a CruzID to be added to any course site. After approving their enrollment have them submit an ITRequest ticket to finish the course enrollment process. Include in the request; course number, instructor name and contact information including existing CruzID (xxx@ucsc.edu) address if they had one previously.

Removing Participants

  1. Click the tab for the site you would like to modify.
  2. Click on the Site Editor link in the left hand menu.
  3. From here you will see your course roster, locate the participant to remove, select the Remove box, scroll down and select Update Participants

roster screen shot to remove participant

eCommons rosters are updated regularly from myUCSC (AIS).  You will not need to add/drop students from your course site.  If a student has added your course but does not have access to your course site, advise them to wait 24-48 hours for the system to update.

If you are trying to remove a participant and there is no Remove box to select, the student is on the imported roster for your course and you will need to wait for them to be dropped by the Registrar.

DO NOT REMOVE THE PRIMARY INSTRUCTOR

Roles & Permissions

Participants uploaded to your site from the Registrar will be assigned the role of Student.  If information regarding your Teaching Assistant(s) was sent to the Registrar they may be included in your roster, typically you will have to manually add them to your site.  You may choose/change the role for any participant in your site.  

  1. Click the tab for the site you would like to modify.
  2. Click on the Site Editor link in the left hand menu.
  3. From here you will see your course roster, locate the participant to change, select the Role drop down box, select the appropriate role, scroll down and select Update Participants

screen shot of roster to change participant roles

Review Instructional Roles for a full list of roles and permissions.

Back to Top


Publish a Site

eCommons Resources Tool upload folder
  1. Click the tab for the site you would like to modify.
  2. Click on the Site Editor link in the left hand menu and click on the Manage Access action button.
    site editor
  3. Under Site Status check the box labeled Publish site, then click the Update button at the bottom to publish the site.
    publishing site

NOTE: The course participants that are students will not be able to access the site until the course is published.

Back to Top


Reuse Material From a Previous eCommons Sites

eCommons Resources Tool upload folder
  1. Click the tab for the site you would like to modify.
  2. Click on the Site Editor link in the left hand menu click on the Import from Site action button.
    site editor
  3. Choose whether to replace your existing data, merge the other site's data with your existing data, or merge the other site's users with your existing users and click on the link for that option.
    choosing method
  4. Select the check box(es) next to the site(s) from which you would like to import data. Then click Continue.
  5. Select the check box(es) next to the tool(s) from which you would like to import data. Then click Continue.
    importing material

Back to Top


Changing the Course Title and Information

  1. Click the tab for the site you would like to view.
  2. Click on the Site Editor link in the left hand menu and then click on the Edit Site Information action button.
    edit site information
  3. Enter your new course title into the top text box next to Site Title. This title will appear on the tab.
    edit site title
  4. Change the information of the course by modifying the Description text box.
    description box
  5. Once complete, click Continue.
  6. A preview of your changes will be shown on the next page. Click Finish.

Back to Top


See What the Students See

  1. Click the tab for the site you would like to view.
    tab
  2. In the top right is a drop down menu titled "View Site As," select the role you wish to view the site as.
    view as
  3. To exit Student View click Exit Student View from the upper right hand corner of the screen.
    exit student view

NOTE: You will not be able to make any administrative changes while in Student View.
Also Note: Student view is not perfect, in some cases you will not be able to view exactly what the student will see. If vetting the student view is of great importance contact the FITC at ecommons.help@ucsc.edu or 9-5506

Back to Top


Return to Main Menu